Spice it up!

I don’t like to toot my own horn.  Luckily, I did not come up with the Spicy Mayo that we use and sell at feast!, so I can go ahead and say without reservation that it is awesome.  Hernan Franco, one of the cooks at feast! and the head chef at Beer Run (the man works A LOT) created the recipe before my arrival at feast!.  Someone recently asked me what I would miss the most if I could never get anything from feast! again, and Spicy Mayo was on my short list.

First and foremost, it is delicious on all sandwiches.  Here, we use it in the Roast Beef Melt that we sell in the café, and it is not a coincidence that this is one of my favorite sandwiches.  Among the staff, it is not uncommon for us to replace the mayo/mustard that we use on our other sandwiches with spicy mayo.

The uses of spicy mayo are not limited to sandwiches, however.  We’ve made coleslaw and potato salad using spicy mayo, and both were fantastic.  Over Christmas one of our regulars bought some to put on top of crab cakes, which I thought was rather inspired.  I will also confess that I have been known to dip the ends of baguettes into the spicy mayo and eat them straight up.  Is it gross to eat huge scoops of mayo off of a small piece of bread?  Perhaps.  But, don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.

Next time you order a sandwich from the café, consider requesting spicy mayo instead of our regular mayo/mustard.  It’s delicious on the Tuna Melt, the Chicken Melt and the Chicken Cheddar Fig (sweet and spicy goodness!).   And don’t forget to bring it home and scoop it up on small pieces of bread away from prying eyes.  I won’t tell anyone.

Leave a comment